About SE


The Software Engineering bachelor’s degree was established in 2007 as a interdisciplinary program between the College of Engineering and the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences. 

Iowa State’s Software Engineering students interact with a diverse faculty and student body where they gain expertise in computer science, engineering, and math that will prepare them to design, develop, and evaluate software, configure and install computer systems, and build and maintain software systems throughout their lifecycles. This educational preparation prepares Iowa State’s Software Engineering graduates for the most-in demand technology professions.

Software Engineering at Iowa State continues to be one of the fastest growing majors. In Spring 2017, it was the 12th largest major with 573 undergraduate students.

Iowa State University’s Software Engineering bachelor’s degree program was ranked sixth in the nation Spring 2017 by College Choice, according to academic reputation, student satisfaction, affordability and average annual salary of graduates. Iowa State received sixth place on a list of 20 top university programs.

In the summer of 2018 Iowa State University's Software Engineering Program was ranked second from schools.com on the top 10 best colleges for software engineering degree programs in the U.S.  https://www.schools.com/programs/software-engineering.

Software Engineering Organizational Chart